Taranaki Farmer Joins AGMARDT as Associate Trustee



AGMARDT has announced the appointment of Liam O’Sullivan as the next Associate Board Member to join its Board of Trustees.

AGMARDT Chairman Tony Egan said, “The Board is delighted with Liam’s appointment. There was a lot of interest in the role and the quality of applications was excellent.”

“The purpose of creating the Associate Board Member position is to provide an emerging agribusiness leader with an opportunity to observe and experience governance in action within an innovative agribusiness environment.”

Liam O’Sullivan farms a Coastal Taranaki dairy farm milking 400 cows where he and his family have been since 2014. Prior to this he had a 16-year Agri banking career working in roles across the North Island which included holding Senior Regional leadership positions. He is a recent graduate of the Fonterra Governance Development Programme (2018), holds a Bachelor of Agriculture and a Post Graduate Diploma in Rural Studies (Valuation) and has held governance and advisory board positions in farming companies. He is currently a member of the Taranaki Dairy Environment leaders’ group.

“I am stoked to be part of the AGMARDT team and look forward to contributing to the good work the Trust does to add to the bright future of the Agricultural, Horticultural and Forestry sectors through supporting science, innovation, customer insights and people development.”

“Developing people with good leadership and governance skills is paramount given the importance of agribusiness to the New Zealand economy. AGMARDT intends to continue to support initiatives focused on growing leadership skills and good governance” said Mr Egan.

2019 Young Horticulturist competition launched


The hunt is on for New Zealand’s 2019 Young Horticulturist.

The 2019 event is being officially launched this month with the country’s best young men and women preparing to go head-to-head in six sector competitions throughout New Zealand. These competitions determine who will qualify to compete in the Young Horticulturist annual competition held in November. The competition recognises and celebrates excellence in people aged under 30, employed in the horticulture industry.

One finalist will represent each of the six sectors, with these being Young Amenity, Young Achiever (representing NZ plant producers), Young Grower, Young Viticulturist, Young Landscaper and Young Florist/floriculturist.

2019 Young Horticulturist Competition chairperson Elle Anderson is thrilled to announce the continued support of four partnering sponsors. These are AGMARDT, Countdown, Fruitfed Supplies and T&G.

She says this year marks a milestone with the competition celebrating its 15th year.

Last year’s winner Annabel Bulk encourages young horticulturists to pit their talents. Annabel, who is a viticulturist with Felton Road Wines in Central Otago’s Bannockburn, says the competition gave her the opportunity to meet and share experiences with like-minded young people from across the horticulture sector.

For more information see the media release from Young Horticulturist: